APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2007

APRA Silver Scroll Awards 2007


APRA announces the Top 20 Songs of the year.

The Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA)* is proud to announce the top 20 songs eligible for New Zealand's most prestigious songwriting award.

The Silver Scroll has been presented since 1965, and is the New Zealand music industry's favourite night out. It's an unparalleled chance for musicians, to relax, confer and celebrate with peers and industry alike.

Anthony Healey, APRA's Director of NZ Operations. "This is yet another outstanding year showcasing and celebrating a collection of exceptional talent. The entrants are all to be congratulated and acknowledged for their contribution to the quality of the New Zealand music landscape. It's really an amazing year not just for the songwriters, but it's also the first time APRA members have been able to cast a vote to determine the Scroll recipient. With the beauty of online technology, we can now genuinely let the industry speak for itself!"

Historically, a panel of anonymous writers and industry experts has judged the Silver Scroll.
This year, a significant change has occurred in determining the winner. A panel of judges were nominated by APRA to convene the below preliminary list, and now the rest is handed over to APRA members who can listen to each song, read the lyrics and log on to vote. The 5 finalists are performed on the night of the Awards and the winner of the Silver Scroll 2007 (as decided by APRA members) will be announced.

This highly anticipated evening on the music industry calendar, is guaranteed to yield nothing short of a spectacular result. It's a veritable who's who of New Zealand's most respected songwriters. From old faces to new, the songwriters selected include;  Boh Runga, Shayne Carter, Miriam Clancy, Greg Johnson, and it's also the first time father and son, Neil and Liam Finn both vie for this coveted award! Sean Donnelly and Brooke Fraser prove their talent by being nominated with not one, but two songs each!

And is if that's not enough to ensure a sublime evening of performance and celebration; it's also the inauguration of the first members into the newly established APRA New Zealand Music Hall of Fame.

Four inaugural inductees will be honoured in 2007 and presentations will be made at the annual APRA Silver Scroll Award evening. Inductees may be songwriters, composers, performing artists or industry champions. They will all however have shaped and influenced New Zealand culture in a significant way.

Healey points out "The APRA New Zealand Music Hall of Fame will ensure that we're dedicated to preserving and acknowledging the contribution, both musical and cultural, that our colleagues make towards our industry. It's appropriate and right to celebrate such significant people alongside their musical counterparts at an event like the Silver Scroll; the award and the Hall of Fame go hand in hand."

The Top 20 contenders for the 2007 APRA Silver Scroll are listed below:

Song Title -  Writer (s) Performed by

Albertine - Brooke Fraser,Performed by Brooke Fraser

Anyone Can Say Goodbye - Greg Johnson & Ted Brown, Performed by Greg Johnson

Beautiful Haze - Sean Donnelly, Performed by SJD

Crawl - Sean Cunningham, Ben Campbell & Beth Campbell, Performed by Atlas

Crazy? Yes! Dumb? No! - Ruban Nielson, Performed by The Mint Chicks

Deciphering Me - Brooke Fraser, Performed by Brooke Fraser

Don't Stop Now - Neil Finn, Performed by Crowded House

For A While - Boh Runga, Performed by stellar*

Girl About Town - Miriam Clancy, Performed by Miriam Clancy

I Will Do - Hollie Smith & Jeremy Toy, Performed by Hollie Smith

I Will Not Let You Down - Sean Donnelly, Performed by Don McGlashan

Light Surrounding You - Dann Hume & Jon Hume, Performed by Evermore

Maybe - Jason Kerrison, Bobby Kennedy, Matt Treacy & Clinton Harris, Performed by  Opshop

One - Redford Grenell, Devin Abrams, Nick Robinson, Sam Trevethick & Paora Apera, Performed by  Shapeshifter

Rise Up (part 2) - Jeremy Toy, Julien Dyne, Lewis McCallum & Tyra Hammond, Performed by  opensouls

Second Chance - Liam Finn, Performed by  Liam Finn

The Way To Breathe - Julia Deans, Andrew Bain & Simon Braxton, Performed by  Fur Patrol

This Soldier - Victoria Girling-Butcher, Performed by  Lucid 3

We're So Lost - Buzz Moller, Performed by  Voom

What's A Few Tears To the Ocean - Shayne Carter, Performed by  Dimmer

To listen and read each song's lyrics visit APRA 


Amplifier — buy, download and listen to the best New Zealand NZ music